Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame

The mission of the Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame (VHSHOF) is to preserve the city of Vestavia Hills Sports History for future generations by honoring Vestavia Hills Sports Heroes that created exposure, awareness and pride for the Vestavia Hills community on a statewide, regional or national basis through sports as a coach, official, administrator or player (following high school), and by honoring special Vestavia Hills citizens who have made significant contributions to the promotion of sports in the Vestavia Hills community.

VHSHOF is located on the 2nd floor of the Vestavia Hills Civic Center at 1090 Montgomery Highway, 35216.

Qualifications for VHSHOF Selection

Coach/Officiating/Administration Category: Years and sport(s) coached at a Vestavia Hills City School and/or Vestavia Hills resident that lived and/or taught at a Vestavia Hills City School for at least five years with subsequent coaching/officiating/sports administration accomplishments at either the middle school, high school, college or professional level. A coach/official/administrator inductee must have had extraordinary accomplishments or provided extraordinary assistance in bringing Vestavia Hills recognition in sports on a statewide/regional/national/international basis. Up to 4 coaches/officials/administrators will be selected per class.

Player Category: At least 25 years old. Years and sport(s) played for Vestavia Hills or years player was a Vestavia Hills resident while playing a sport. For players to be eligible, they must have either graduated from Vestavia Hills High School and have  extraordinary sporting accomplishments post Vestavia Hills High School that brought Vestavia Hills  recognition on a statewide/regional/national/international basis, or, if players did not play a sport at the high school or did not graduate from the high school but lived in and participated in sports as a player and Vestavia Hills resident for at least five years and then achieved extraordinary sporting accomplishments post high school that brought Vestavia Hills recognition on a regional/national/international basis. Up to 4 players will be selected per class.

Distinguished Citizen Category: At least 25 years old.  Significant contributions to the City of Vestavia Hills through service and volunteer efforts that assisted coaches, officials, administrators and/or players in making Vestavia Hills a premiere sports community and an exceptional place to live. 1 citizen will be selected per class.

Class of 2010 Inductees

Coach Buddy Anderson
Coach Fran Braasch
Dr. Michael Chandler
Casey Dunn
Coach Sammy Dunn
Chris Hammond
Trey Hardee
David Jordan
Thompson Clay “Mutt” Reynolds
Suzzane Olcott Serrano
Jay Waggoner
Jeanne Wilson

>>Click HERE to view inductee biographies.

Class of 2012 Inductees

Coach Peter Braasch
Coach Charlie Dickinson
Coach Steve Gaydosh
Ryan Halla
Coach George Hatchett
Beanie Ketcham
Sam Short
Les Stuedeman

Media Release

Eight individuals who have distinguished themselves and brought recognition to Vestavia Hills, Alabama through sports on a statewide and national basis have been selected to the second class of the City of Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2012 class will be honored as part of the Vestavia Hills homecoming game activities against Carver on October 12, 2012. Prior to the game, the 2012 class will be inducted on October 11, 2012 at an induction banquet at Vestavia Country Club presented by the Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Clinic of Alabama. Similar to the 2010 inaugural class, the 2012 class again includes coaches already members of the Alabama High School Athletic Association’s Sports Hall of Fame as well as nationally recognized athletes and coaches that have brought civic pride to the City of Vestavia Hills following their careers at Vestavia Hills High School. Also representing the class will be a distinguished citizen that has diligently served the Vestavia Hills Baseball program for more than 30 years.

Over 100 names for induction were reviewed by the Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame Committee and a final list of nominations was voted on by the current Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame members. The 2012 class members are: Coach Peter Braasch; Coach Steve Gaydosh; Ryan Halla; Coach George Hatchett; Beanie Ketcham; Sam Short; Les Stuedeman; and Coach Charlie Dickinson.

2012 Vestavia Hills Sports Hall of Fame Committee Members: Patsy Alford; Buddy Anderson; Jamie Blair; Fran Braasch; Brian Davis; Peggy England; Tahara Evans; Jeff Looney; Cas McWaters; Louis Noto; Tim Petro; Jay Stewart; and Diane Zaragoza.