Police Department

I am Chief Dan Rary and I would like to welcome you to the City of Vestavia Hills Police Department’s web page. I have the privilege of leading the dedicated men and women of this department. Our department is striving to be one of the most progressive in the area.

We serve a population of more than 34,000 residents, with 92 sworn officers and 3 civilian employees. The Department is organized into task specific units to provide the best service to our citizens. These units are Patrol, Investigations, Narcotics/Vice, Traffic, Professional Standards and Resource Management.

The Department has a paramilitary command structure with a Chief of Police, Captains, Lieutenants, Sergeants, Corporals and Officers.

We depend on a positive relationship between the community and the police department for our success. Vestavia Hills is a wonderful community to raise your family, work or operate/start a business. I hope that you enjoy our web site as well as our Facebook page and that you come back often to see what is new. If you have any questions or comments we encourage you to reach out to us.

Records and adminisitration: 205-978-0124

Emergency Dial: “911” Or 205-823-1153

Desk Sergeant: 205-978-0140 (to request non-emergency police dispatch)

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills
Police Department
1032 Montgomery Hwy.
Vestavia Hills, AL 35216

Dispatch: 205-823-1153
General: 205-978-0140
Fax: 205-978-0207
Emergency Dial “911”

VHPD East Precinct (Cahaba Heights)
3241 Cahaba Heights Rd.
Vestavia Hills, AL 35243

Records

Sgt. Kristin Harding-Jones
205-978-0124
205-978-0141
kharding@vhal.org

Desk Sergeants

205-978-0140
desksgt@vhal.org

Criminal Investigation

Captain Brian Gilham
205 978-0194
bgilham@vhal.org

Lieutenant Steve Gurley
205-978-0230
sgurley@vhal.org

Lieutenant Chuck Nagle
205-978-0112
cnagle@vhal.org

Investigators

Sgt. Bruce Tritt
205-978-0120
btritt@vhal.org

Sgt. Tommy Burch
205-978-0115
tburch@vhal.org

Sgt. Robert Owens
205-978-0129
rowens@vhal.org

Sgt. John Clemons

205-978-0107
jclemons@vhal.org

Patrol Division

Captain Shane Ware
205-978-0111
sware@vhal.org

Lieutenant Michael Keller
205-978-0185
mkeller@vhal.org

Lieutenant Sean Richardson
205-978-0118
srichardson@vhal.org

Lieutenant Ken Sherer
205-978-0148
ksherer@vhal.org

Traffic Division

Sgt. Lee Goodwin
205-978-0140
lgoodwin@vhal.org

Narcotics Unit

Phone: 205-978-0117
Email: narcotics@vhal.org

Administrative Division

Captain Johnny Evans
205-978-0123
jevans@vhal.org

Evidence/Property

Sgt. Joel Gaston
205-978-0137
jgaston@vhal.org

Investigator Rob Wilson
205-978-0110
rwilson@vhal.org

Community Liaison

Sgt. Eddie Crim
205-978-0119
ecrim@vhal.org

Code Enforcement & Animal Control

Cpl. Jimmy Coleman
205-978-0113
jcoleman@vhal.org