Police Department

Chief Dan Rary is privileged to lead the dedicated men and women of the Vestavia Hills Police Department, a department striving to be one of the most progressive in the area.

VHPD serves a population of more than 34,000 residents, with 98 sworn officers and 3 civilian employees organized into task specific units to provide the best service to our citizens. These units are Patrol, Investigations, Narcotics/Vice, Traffic, Professional Standards and Resource Management. The Department has a paramilitary command structure with a chief of police, deputy chief, captains, lieutenants, sergeants, corporals and officers.

Vestavia Hills is consistently rated as one of the safest communities in Alabama and is a wonderful place to raise your family, work and operate/start a business. This is due in large part to the positive relationship between the community and the VHPD. If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact your Vestavia Hills Police Department.

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills Police Department
1032 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Fax 205.978.0207

Vestavia Hills Police Department – East Precinct (Cahaba Heights)
3241 Cahaba Heights Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35243

Emergency
911

Non-emergency (Desk Sergeant)
205.978.0140 desksgt@vhal.org

Dispatch
205.823.1153

Professional Standards/Public Information
Capt. Shane Ware | 205.978.0111sware@vhal.org

Code Enforcement & Animal Control
Cpl. Jimmy Coleman | 205.978.0113 jcoleman@vhal.org

Community Liaison
Sgt. Eddie Crim | 205.978.0119 ecrim@vhal.org

Evidence/Property
Cpl. Rob Wilson | 205.978.0110 rwilson@vhal.org
Cpl. Alex Prine | 205.978.0175 aprine@vhal.org

Records, Administration & Hiring
Sgt. Kristin Harding | 205.978.0124 kharding@vhal.org

Criminal Investigation
Lt. Michael Keller | 205.978.0185mkeller@vhal.org
Lt. Steve Gurley | 205.978.0230 sgurley@vhal.org

Investigators
Sgt. Tommy Burch | 205.978.0115 tburch@vhal.org
Sgt. John Clemons | 205.978.0107 jclemons@vhal.org
Sgt. Bruce Tritt | 205.978.0120 btritt@vhal.org
Cpl. Colby Wooten | 205.978.0129 cwooten@vhal.org

Narcotics Unit
205.978.0117  |  narcotics@vhal.org

Patrol Division
Lt. Joel Gaston (3-11pm) | 205.978.0137 jgaston@vhal.org
Lt. Sean Richardson (7am-3pm) | 205.978.0118 srichardson@vhal.org
Lt. Ken Sherer (11pm-7am) | 205.978.0148 ksherer@vhal.org
Capt. Johnny Evans | 205.978.0123jevans@vhal.org

Traffic Division
Sgt. Steve Evans | 205.978.1226 sevans@vhal.org