Police Department

Chief Dan Rary is privileged to lead the dedicated men and women of the Vestavia Hills Police Department, a department striving to be one of the most progressive in the area.

VHPD serves a population of nearly 35,000 residents, with 100 sworn officers and 3 civilian employees organized into task specific units to provide the best service to our citizens. These units are Patrol, Investigations, Narcotics/Vice, Traffic, Professional Standards and Resource Management. The Department has a paramilitary command structure with a chief of police, deputy chief, captains, lieutenants, sergeants, corporals and officers.

Vestavia Hills is consistently rated as one of the safest communities in Alabama and is a wonderful place to raise your family, work and operate/start a business. This is due in large part to the positive relationship between the community and the VHPD. If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact your Vestavia Hills Police Department.

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills Police Department
1032 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Fax 205.978.0207

Vestavia Hills Police Department – East Precinct (Cahaba Heights)
3241 Cahaba Heights Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35243

Emergency
911

Non-emergency (Desk Sergeant)
205.978.0140 desksgt@vhal.org

Dispatch
205.823.1153

Professional Standards/Public Information
Capt. Shane Ware | 205.978.0111sware@vhal.org
Lt. Joel Gaston | 205.978.0137jgaston@vhal.org

Code Enforcement & Animal Control
Officer Greg Williams | 205.978.0113gwilliams@vhal.org

Community Liaison
Sgt. Eddie Crim | 205.978.0119 ecrim@vhal.org

Training
Sgt. Derek Wilcox | 205.978.0197rwilcox@vhal.org

Evidence/Property
Cpl. Rob Wilson | 205.978.0110 rwilson@vhal.org

Property Custodian
Officer Darryl Fortner | 205.978.0151dfortner@vhal.org

Records, Administration & Hiring
Sgt. Kristin Harding | 205.978.0124 kharding@vhal.org

Criminal Investigation
Lt. Michael Keller | 205.978.0185mkeller@vhal.org
Lt. Steve Gurley | 205.978.0230 sgurley@vhal.org
Capt. Johnny Evans | 205.978.0123jevans@vhal.org

Investigators
Sgt. John Clemons | 205.978.0107 jclemons@vhal.org
Sgt. Bruce Tritt | 205.978.0120 btritt@vhal.org
Cpl. Jimmy Coleman | 205.978.0113jcoleman@vhal.org
Cpl. Matt Peoples | 205.978.0129 mpeoples@vhal.org

Narcotics Unit
205.978.0117  |  narcotics@vhal.org

Patrol Division
Lt. Jared Freeman (7am-3pm) | 205.978.0112 jfreeman@vhal.org
Lt. Joe Dease (3-11pm) | 205.978.0194jdease@vhal.org
Lt. Ken Sherer (11pm-7am) | 205.978.0148 ksherer@vhal.org
Capt. Sean Richardson (7am-3pm) | 205.978.0118srichardson@vhal.org

Traffic Division
Sgt. Steve Evans | 205.978.1226 sevans@vhal.org