Police Department

Chief Dan Rary is privileged to lead the dedicated men and women of the Vestavia Hills Police Department, a department striving to be one of the most progressive in the area.

VHPD serves a population of more than 34,000 residents, with 92 sworn officers and 3 civilian employees organized into task specific units to provide the best service to our citizens. These units are Patrol, Investigations, Narcotics/Vice, Traffic, Professional Standards and Resource Management. The Department has a paramilitary command structure with a chief of police, captains, lieutenants, sergeants, corporals and officers.

Vestavia Hills is consistently rated as one of the safest communities in Alabama and is a wonderful place to raise your family, work and operate/start a business. This is due in large part to the positive relationship between the community and the VHPD. If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact your Vestavia Hills Police Department.

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills Police Department
1032 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Fax 205.978.0207

Vestavia Hills Police Department – East Precinct (Cahaba Heights)
3241 Cahaba Heights Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35243

Emergency
911

Non-emergency (Desk Sergeant)
205.978.0140  |  desksgt@vhal.org

Dispatch
205.823.1153

Public Information
Capt. Johnny Evans
205.978.0123  |  jevans@vhal.org

Code Enforcement & Animal Control
Cpl. Jimmy Coleman
205.978.0113  |  jcoleman@vhal.org

Community Liaison
Sgt. Eddie Crim
205.978.0119  |  ecrim@vhal.org

Evidence/Property
Sgt. Joel Gaston
205.978.0137  |  jgaston@vhal.org

Investigator Rob Wilson
205.978.0110  |  rwilson@vhal.org

Records & Administration
Sgt. Kristin Harding-Jones
205.978.0124 or 205.978.0141  |  kharding@vhal.org

Criminal Investigation
Capt. Brian Gilham
205.978.0194  |  bgilham@vhal.org

Lt. Steve Gurley
205.978.0230  |  sgurley@vhal.org

Lt. Chuck Nagle
205.978.0112  |  cnagle@vhal.org

Investigators
Sgt. Bruce Tritt
205.978.0120  |  btritt@vhal.org

Sgt. Tommy Burch
205.978.0115  |  tburch@vhal.org

Sgt. Robert Owens
205.978.0129  |  rowens@vhal.org

Sgt. John Clemons
205.978.0107  |  jclemons@vhal.org

Narcotics Unit
205.978.0117  |  narcotics@vhal.org

Patrol Division
Capt. Shane Ware
205.978.0111  |  sware@vhal.org

Lt. Michael Keller
205.978.0185  |  mkeller@vhal.org

Lt. Sean Richardson
205.978.0118  |  srichardson@vhal.org

Lt. Ken Sherer
205.978.0148  |  ksherer@vhal.org

Traffic Division
Sgt. Lee Goodwin
205.978.0140  |  lgoodwin@vhal.org