Police Department

Chief Dan Rary is privileged to lead the dedicated men and women of the Vestavia Hills Police Department, a department striving to be one of the most progressive in the area.

VHPD serves a population of more than 34,000 residents, with 92 sworn officers and 3 civilian employees organized into task specific units to provide the best service to our citizens. These units are Patrol, Investigations, Narcotics/Vice, Traffic, Professional Standards and Resource Management. The Department has a paramilitary command structure with a chief of police, captains, lieutenants, sergeants, corporals and officers.

Vestavia Hills is consistently rated as one of the safest communities in Alabama and is a wonderful place to raise your family, work and operate/start a business. This is due in large part to the positive relationship between the community and the VHPD. If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact your Vestavia Hills Police Department.

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills Police Department
1032 Montgomery Highway
Vestavia Hills, AL 35216

Vestavia Hills Police Department – East Precinct (Cahaba Heights)
3241 Cahaba Heights Road
Vestavia Hills, AL 35243

Emergency:

911

Non-emergency (Desk Sergeant):

205.978.0140desksgt@vhal.org

Dispatch:

205.823.1153

Fax:

205.978.0207

Public Information

Capt. Johnny Evans 205.978.0123jevans@vhal.org

Code Enforcement & Animal Control

Cpl. Jimmy Coleman 205.978.0113jcoleman@vhal.org

Community Liaison

Sgt. Eddie Crim 205.978.0119ecrim@vhal.org

Evidence/Property

Sgt. Joel Gaston 205.978.0137jgaston@vhal.org
Investigator Rob Wilson 205.978.0110rwilson@vhal.org

Records & Administration:

Sgt. Kristin Harding-Jones 205.978.0124 or 205.978.0141kharding@vhal.org

Criminal Investigation

Capt. Brian Gilham 205.978.0194bgilham@vhal.org
Lt. Steve Gurley 205.978.0230sgurley@vhal.org
Lt. Chuck Nagle 205.978.0112cnagle@vhal.org

Investigators

Sgt. Bruce Tritt 205.978.0120btritt@vhal.org
Sgt. Tommy Burch 205.978.0115tburch@vhal.org
Sgt. Robert Owens 205.978.0129rowens@vhal.org
Sgt. John Clemons 205.978.0107jclemons@vhal.org

Narcotics Unit

205.978.0117narcotics@vhal.org

Patrol Division

Capt. Shane Ware 205.978.0111sware@vhal.org
Lt. Michael Keller 205.978.0185mkeller@vhal.org
Lt. Sean Richardson 205.978.0118srichardson@vhal.org
Lt. Ken Sherer 205.978.0148ksherer@vhal.org

Traffic Division

Sgt. Lee Goodwin 205.978.0140lgoodwin@vhal.org