Fire Department

Our Mission: Protect Life, Prevent Harm, Preserve Property

We do a lot more than just fight fire. In addition to fire suppression, the primary functions of the Vestavia Hills Fire Department are rescue, emergency medical services, hazardous materials mitigation, and fire prevention. Our firefighters participate in a continuous training regimen so they are ready to meet any fire or rescue challenge at a moment’s notice. Our paramedics and firefighters save lives every day, and you can count on us in any emergency to be properly trained and respond effectively to life’s most dire moments. We are prepared for major disasters such as severe weather events and hazardous material spills – both of which are potential occurrences any given day – as well as homeland security threats. We also pride ourselves on being public servants. We are ever mindful that we represent our community and its citizens.

Click here to follow VHFD on Facebook

Contact Us

Fire Administration

Fire Chief
Marvin Green | 205.978.0225 | mgreen@vhal.org

Deputy Chief
Shawn Jackson | 205.978.0222 jjackson@vhal.org

Deputy Chief/Fire Marshal
Ryan Farrell | 205.978.0218 rfarrell@vhal.org

Battalion Chief – Training Division
Christian Elliott | 205.978.0223 celliott@vhal.org

Battalion Chief – E.M.S. Division
Scott Ferrell | 205.978.0212 sferrell@vhal.org

Deputy Fire Marshal
Chris Vines | 205.978.0224 cvines@vhal.org

Administrative Assistant
Angela Wilson | 205.978.0146 awilson@vhal.org

Battalion Chiefs

Greg Hamrick | 205.978.0231 ghamrick@vhal.org
Tommy Hale | 205.978.0231 | thale@vhal.org
Greg Gilchrist | 205.978.0231 ggilchrist@vhal.org

Fire Station Locations

Station 1: 509 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Station 2: 2925 Columbiana Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Station 3: 3201 Morgan Drive, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
Station 4: 13041 Liberty Parkway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35242
Station 5: 3241 Cahaba Heights Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35243