Fire Department

Our Mission: Protect Life, Prevent Harm, Preserve Property

We do a lot more than just fight fire. In addition to fire suppression, the primary functions of the Vestavia Hills Fire Department are rescue, emergency medical services, hazardous materials mitigation, and fire prevention. Our firefighters participate in a continuous training regimen so they are ready to meet any fire or rescue challenge at a moment’s notice. Our paramedics and firefighters save lives every day, and you can count on us in any emergency to be properly trained and respond effectively to life’s most dire moments. We are prepared for major disasters such as severe weather events and hazardous material spills – both of which are potential occurrences any given day – as well as homeland security threats. We also pride ourselves on being public servants. We are ever mindful that we represent our community and its citizens.

Useful Links: Social Media – Facebook

Contact Us

Fire Administration

Fire Chief
Marvin Green
205.978.0225  |  mgreen@vhal.org

Assistant Chief
Terry Ray
205.978.0212  |  tray@vhal.org

Assistant Chief/Fire Marshal
Scott Key
205.978.0218  |  skey@vhal.org

Battalion Chief – Training Division
Christian Elliott
205.978.0223  |  celliott@vhal.org

Battalion Chief – E.M.S. Division
Shawn Jackson
205.978.0222  |  jjackson@vhal.org

Deputy Fire Marshal
Chris Vines
205.978.0224  |  cvines@vhal.org

Administrative Assistant
Angela Wilson
205.978.0146  |  awilson@vhal.org

Battalion Chiefs

Greg Hamrick
205.978.0231  |  ghamrick@vhal.org

Tommy Hale
205.978.0231  |  thale@vhal.org

Greg Gilchrist
205.978.0231  |  ggilchrist@vhal.org

Fire Station Locations

  • Station 1: 509 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
  • Station 2: 2925 Columbiana Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
  • Station 3: 3201 Morgan Drive, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
  • Station 4: 13041 Liberty Parkway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35242
  • Station 5: 3241 Cahaba Heights Road, Vestavia Hills, AL 35243