Finance

The Finance department strives to ensure the financial integrity of the City through employing qualified and educated personnel of the highest moral standards. Through the efforts of the Finance department’s personnel, the City of Vestavia Hills financial position has been and remains extremely strong. The City boasts one of the highest financial/bond ratings in the State of Alabama. Moody’s Investors Service and Fitch Ratings Company have issued ratings of AAA. Click to view the current: Moody’s Investors Service Final Report or the Fitch Rating Action Commentary.

The Finance department is responsible for safeguarding Vestavia Hills’ assets through adherence to the Governmental Accounting Standards Board’s rules and regulations. The department prepares and provides monthly financial reports and disseminates these reports to the City Council, Mayor, City Manager and department heads in order to keep them apprised of the expenditures of each department and the financial status of the City. Additionally, the Finance department records and receipts all City revenues; ensures that adequate funds are available to meet daily financial obligations; ensures departmental expenditures are within budget; prepares bimonthly payrolls and weekly accounts payable payments; monitors businesses to ensure appropriate licenses are obtained; prepares annual budgets; assists external auditors in completing annual audits; and performs additional duties as required.

Our goal is to provide useful and transparent information. It is paramount to us that tax dollars are properly accounted for and utilized appropriately; as such, the City’s annual budget, financials, historical and current, are available for public review. It is the City’s position to engage its employees and citizens by providing financial transparency. Providing a clear and unambiguous view of how funds are allocated and spent enhances trust and provides a useful resource that helps educate all interested parties. This is a fundamental concept dating back to our founding fathers’ strongly held belief that the government is an instrument of the people. By making the City’s financial data accessible, we honor the very foundation of our democracy. We trust you will find the information beneficial.

Investment Policy

Contact Us

Vestavia Hills Finance Department
1032 Montgomery Highway, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216
P.O. Box 660854, Vestavia Hills, AL 35266-0854
Hours 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday-Friday
Tag Office: 8:30am-4:00pm, Monday-Friday
(Closed for Lunch: 12-1pm)

Finance

Finance Director/Treasurer
Melvin Turner III | 205.978.0128 | mturner@vhal.org

Deputy Finance Director
Zachary Clifton, CPA | 205.978.0149 | zclifton@vhal.org

Senior Revenue Examiner/Business License Administrator
Cortez Rice | 205.978.0157 | crice@vhal.org

Tag Clerk/Administrative Supervisor
Rheanna Poe | 205.978.0188 | rpoe@vhal.org

Tag Clerk/Accounting Assistant
Marlene Smith | 205.978.0187 | msmith@vhal.org

Senior Accountant/Accounts Payable Administrator
Rita Hosmer | 205.978.0126 rhosmer@vhal.org

Senior Accountant/Accounts Receivable
Christie Benson | 205.978.0104 cbenson@vhal.org

Accountant/Accounts Payable Assistant
Marshea Peet | 205.978.0102 mfields@vhal.org

Human Resources

Human Resources Director
James Randall | 205.978.0192jrandall@vhal.org

Payroll Supervisor
Open


>>Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
>Ad Valorem Tax
>Business Licenses & Sales Tax
>Financial Statements
>Food Trucks/Mobile Food Units
>Garage Sale Permit
>Human Resources & Employment
>Special Senior Property Tax Exemption
>Vehicle Tags